MIR Faculty Recognized by Academy of Educators

A headshot compostie of Drs. Tyler Fraum, Cylen Javidan, Mariam Malik and Michelle Miller-Thomas.

Clockwise: Tyler J. Fraum, MD, Cylen Javidan, MD, Michelle M. Miller-Thomas, MD, Mariam A. Malik, MD

Four faculty members from Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (MIR) were recognized by the Academy of Educators at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, an institutional collaboration that works to foster a culture of educational excellence and create a coalition of health science education community leaders.

Michelle M. Miller-Thomas, MD, vice chair for faculty development and professor of radiology, was honored with the Exemplary Educator Award. Established in 2022, the award recognizes a faculty member who is actively building a legacy as an educator through their contributions in the domains of education and mentorship.

Miller-Thomas was appointed vice chair in 2023 and spearheads creating programs to support mentorship and provide meaningful guidance in academic achievement, particularly for junior and mid-career faculty. In 2020, she received the Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Teaching Fellowship to collaborate on creating radiology teaching materials, and she was recognized for her creativity in education with a 2022 Distinguished Service Teaching Award.

Group photo at the Academy of Educators induction ceremony on October 10th, 2023. From left: Anup Shetty, MD; Cylen Javidan, MD; Tyler Fraum, MD; Michelle Miller-Thomas, MD; and Andy Bierhals, MD.
From left: Anup Shetty, MD; Cylen Javidan, MD; Tyler Fraum, MD; Michelle Miller-Thomas, MD; and Andy Bierhals, MD.

Three faculty members were also inducted into the 2023 Academy cohort: Tyler J. Fraum, MD; Cylen Javidan, MD; Mariam A. Malik, MD.

Fraum is an assistant professor of radiology with appointments in abdominal imaging and nuclear medicine. In 2021, he was honored with both an Honor Roll Award from the Academy of Educators and a Distinguished Teacher Award, given to those who provide excellent teaching and mentorship as selected by MIR trainees.

Javidan is an associate professor of radiology and the director of the cardiothoracic imaging fellowship program. She received an Honor Roll Award from the academy in 2021, which spotlights those making outstanding contributions to medical education at the university.

Malik is an assistant professor of radiology. She was named a 2023-2025 Loeb Teaching Fellow for her work developing interactive radiologic interpretive imaging exercises to enhance clinical anatomical understanding and application for the Gateway Curriculum.

Fraum, Javidan and Malik join the academy alongside other MIR faculty members including James R. Duncan, MD, PhD; Jennifer E. Gould, MD; Miller-Thomas; Constantine A. Raptis, MD; Anup S. Shetty, MD; Monica Shokeen, PhD; Sharlene A. Teefey, MD and Pamela K. Woodard, MD.

Fraum, Javidan, Malik and Miller-Thomas were honored for their respective achievements during the academy’s Education Day on October 10, 2023.