Amurao, Swingle Named American College of Radiology Fellows

Headshots of Max Amurao, PhD, and Christopher Swingle, DO

Max Amurao, PhD, and Christopher A. Swingle, DO, faculty members for Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology (MIR) at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, have been named to the 2024 fellowship class of the American College of Radiology (ACR). One of the organization’s highest honors, fellowship is awarded to ACR members who’ve demonstrated service, made significant strides in scientific or clinical research, contributed to literature and provided outstanding work as a radiology teacher. Only 15% of current ACR members have been awarded this honor.

“Fellowship recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding contributions to radiology, radiation oncology or medical physics,” said William T. Herrington, MD, president of ACR. “The College, our specialty and the patients we serve benefit greatly from these extraordinary professionals and their achievements.”

Amurao is an assistant professor of radiology and of radiation oncology and serves as director of radiation safety. He is a mainstay of educational conferences at MIR, guiding trainees within the areas of nuclear medicine physics and radiation safety.

Swingle is an assistant professor of radiology in the Division of Nuclear Medicine. He served as the 2022-2023 president of the Missouri Radiological Society, the 2018-2019 president of the Saint Louis Metropolitan American College of Radiology and a delegate from the St. Louis district to the Missouri State Medical Association.

Amurao and Swingle will be officially inducted into the fellowship class in a formal convocation ceremony on April 14, 2024, during the ACR Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.