SNMMI Creates Award to Honor Radiopharmacy Contributions, Schwarz

Headshot of Sally Schwarz, PharmD.

The Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) has created the Sally W. Schwarz Award to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of radiopharmacy. Contributions could include radiopharmaceutical development, production and/or translation of radiopharmaceuticals, significant contributions to the regulatory oversight of radiopharmaceutical supply and administration, and/or in the mentoring and education of the next generation of radiopharmacists. The honor includes a $1,000 award supported by the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council.

The Sally W. Schwarz Award recognizes its namesake, who was elected SNMMI president in 2015, becoming the first pharmacist and fourth woman to hold the position. Schwarz joined MIR and started her work in nuclear pharmacy at the forefront of the field when there were less than 100 nuclear pharmacies nationwide. Schwarz also helped design a state-of-the-art cyclotron facility at MIR and served as co-director of the facility.

The inaugural award was received by Neil A. Petry, director of the Duke Medical Center Radiopharmacy.