Article from: Spring-Summer 2017



    Similar Articles

    By Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology

    Honors & Awards

    Faculty Awards

    Left to right: Sheng-Kwei (Victor) Song, PhD, Farrokh Dehdashti, MD, and William H. McAlister, MD, after receiving a 2017 Washington University School of Medicine Distinguished Faculty Award

    MIR faculty William H. McAlister, MD, Sheng-Kwei Song, PhD, and Farrokh Dehdashti, MD, were honored recently at Washington University School of Medicine’s 2017 Distinguished Faculty Awards ceremony. The annual event, held February 15 at the medical school’s Eric P. Newman Education Center, recognizes physicians from across the university for their achievements in clinical care, community service, research and teaching.

    McAlister, professor of radiology and pediatrics, was honored with the Distinguished Clinician Award for his tireless dedication in caring for patients and mentoring fellows at Washington University in St. Louis. He is an expert in skeletal dysplasias and metabolic bone disease in children and his career has spanned more than 60 years. Song, professor of radiology, was honored with the Distinguished Investigator Award for his innovative contributions focusing on new techniques for imaging the central nervous system (CNS). Song is a world renowned imaging scientist whose work is widely applicable to many CNS diseases, as well as some cancers. Dehdashti, professor of radiology, received the Daniel P. Schuster Award for Distinguished Work in Clinical and Translational Science. Dehdashti, aninnovative translational researcher, was honored for her seminal efforts inidentifying and expanding the role ofpositron emission tomography (PET) in the field of oncology

    Robert C. McKinstry, MD, PhD, professor of radiology and Senior ViceChair for the Division of Diagnostic Imaging, is the recipient of the William R. Orthwein, Jr. and Laura Rand Orthwein Chair in Radiology and Pediatrics at MIR.McKinstry’s installation was followed by his inaugural lecture “Advanced MR Imaging of the Developing Brain” on March 29, 2016.

    Dennis M. Balfe, MD, professor of radiology, received the Walter B. Cannon Medal Award during the annual meeting of the Society of Abdominal Radiology on March 29, 2017, in Hollywood, Florida. The award is given to a distinguished radiologist who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of gastrointestinal radiology and to the society. Balfe is the former chief of abdominal imaging at MIR.

    Samuel I. Achilefu, PhD, Michel M. Ter-Pogossian Professor of Radiology and chief of optical radiology, received an Excellence in Health Care Award from the St. Louis American for his work using ultraviolet light to fight cancer. Achilefu was one of seven recipients honored by the newspaper’s foundation on April 28, 2017.